Tag as favorite
Going back to B-gaden and Garmisch
Tlach
#1 Posted : Sunday, June 19, 2005 8:11:16 PM

Medals:

Groups:

Was thanked: 0 time(s) in 0 post(s)

All,

I am reletively new to the AFRC site.  I was on the ski patrol in BGD the winter of 75-76.  My wife and I are going back to visit both BGD and Garmisch in a few weeks.  Though that I would solicit “must see” items from the group.  I will be coming to the 36th reunion and will bring some pictures from the visit if there is interest. I even dug up my old ski/water patrol patch! I has been great finding this site after 30 years.

Best regards,

Tom Lachner

TLACH@aol.com

goldenboy
#2 Posted : Friday, August 28, 2009 4:30:00 AM

Medals:

Groups:

barely missed you. i was a ski instructor and tourguide from 1978 till the bitter end.1996
i only remember one contact with a skipatrol guy, when i skied straight down from the polk. no tugging. besides smoking dope in austrian skilifts.
it was the best time of my life
hans voss was the boss
Tlach
#3 Posted : Monday, October 05, 2009 5:52:54 PM

Medals:

Groups:

We are back in the USA.  As expected B-gaden as we knew it is pretty much gone. There is only one building still owned by the US Govt. and it is rarely used.  We visitied all the old places and the ones that are left look better than I remember. The ski hills look just like they did 33 years ago.  Strube is occupied by the German army so I could not get on the base.  The town, however, is still as beautiful as ever and definitely worth the trip back.  This time of year is especially good due to the drop in the tourist crowd.

We went to Gramisch also and stopped by the new AFRC hotel.  What a nice place...I wish I was still able to use it.  Sheridan barricks are still in pretty good shape for those that have spent some time there.  I have pictures.  If anyone would like to see them just send me an email and I will send them.

Tom Lachner

B-Gaden Ski Patrol 75-76

goldenboy